My husband and I have been trying to diet by using the South Beach Diet. So we have tried changing our way of cooking,  the kids eat healthier but we didn’t take pasta and rice and bread away from them.  One of the things we tried is a Stuffed Large Portobello Mushrooms.   It is an easy recipe, and if you like Mushrooms you will love this recipe.

Easy Stuffed Mushrooms Pizza Style

4 large Portobello Mushrooms

1 onion chopped

1 red bell pepper chopped

1 green bell pepper chopped

Cooked hamburger meat, (or turkey)

15 oz can tomato sauce

Italian seasoning

Salt

Garlic salt           and        Shredded Mozzarella Cheese.

I did say Large Mushrooms.

Chop your  bell peppers, onion, and start your meat. Then add the peppers, and onion to the meat.

I didn’t have any onions, so I used an onion bouillon cube, my mom turned me onto these you can find them with the Latin foods in your grocery store. They are life savers.

Then scrape the black inside with a spoon carefully out of the center of the Mushroom and remove the stem.
Wash them good but be careful they will tear easily.   Preheat your oven to 350 and spray your sheet pan, then place the mushrooms on the pan and put in oven for about 5 to 8 minutes.

Now prepare your sauce, you can use a ready made pizza sauce or spaghetti sauce if you would like. But, we like to season our own, so I opened a small can of tomato sauce, added some salt, Italian seasoning, and garlic salt to our taste. Let it get warm and cook all the flavors together.

Now your meat should be ready and you can drain the grease off of it. Then pull the Mushrooms out of the oven and if there is any condensation on the top pat with a paper towel. Spray both sides of the Mushroom cap with cooking spray.

Now it is time to stuff them with lots of goodness.  First we added the meat instead of sauce first so that it would stay better.

Then we added our Sauce. MMMMM Good!

Now my Husbands favorite part, we added the Mozzarella cheese!

Now we put them back in our oven for about 10 minutes or until the cheese is melted.  Then put them on the plate and enjoy!

These were so good, we used a fork and knife only because I stuffed them so full that they wanted to fall apart if you picked them up.
My Husband added some Jalapenos to his so it could have some spice.

My mom made a version of this and I will try to get her pictures on here as well.  But, this is our version I hope you enjoy let us know if you try this and what variations you did.

Happy Cooking!

Comments are closed.