I was talking to Mom the other day on Skype, which we both love to do.  She reminded me of when we were little she would make Homemade Macaroni and cheese.  We had it often because, “No Meat on Friday’s” came once a week and having twelve people in our family we had to eat the less expensive and the go far meals.  But, none of us really minded that at all, our Mom was and still is a great cook.  So, I decided since the “No Meat on Friday’s”  still exits I would make this side dish for our family.  The Recipe is the easiest thing in the world, and very inexpensive.   Most of you probably already make this with variations of your own, but the pics came out so nice and talking about my Mom makes me happy so I am posting this.   Enjoy!

Recipe:  Non-Boxed Macaroni and Cheese

Uncooked Macaroni

Block cheese

Preheat oven to 350 degrees so it is ready to melt the cheese when the time comes.

Cook the Macaroni according to the package directions, we used 3lbs but we are a large family.

Then slice your block cheese into not so thin not so thick slices.

Now layering,  lay some slices in the bottom of the pan, add cooked macaroni, then more slices,

then more macaroni, and of course more slices of cheese.

Put in oven to melt the cheese, you can leave in until top is crispy and brown or just until the

you can’t take it any longer and you need to eat.  (just make sure the cheese is melted)

Here are some pics.   The boy helped out with the cheese slices.

We all enjoyed this the kids were shocked that I could make Macaroni and Cheese, I am amazing now!

Comments are closed.